Jaap Schijve Award 2017

The Jaap Schijve Award for Young Researchers who have made an Outstanding Contribution to Scientific Progress in Fatigue and Damage Tolerance as Applied to Aerospace

Ground Rules

The Jaap Schijve award has been established and is sponsored by the Netherlands Aerospace Centre NLR and Delft University of Technology. It is to be bestowed upon a young researcher who has made an outstanding contribution to scientific progress in structural fatigue and damage tolerance as applied to aerospace.

Researchers from any country, worldwide, are eligible for the award. Selection for the award is based on technical contributions to advancement of the field of aeronautical fatigue that have been made by the recipient, who should be at an early stage of their career -- preferably within 10 years of entering the field and/or below the age of 35. The recipient must have earned an MSc or PhD degree in engineering or a related field. He/she should have published at least two articles in peer reviewed scientific journals.

The award winner will be selected by a committee consisting of the General Director of the NLR, the Dean of the Aerospace Department of Delft University, and three experts in the field of fatigue and damage tolerance: one from the Aerospace Department of Delft University, one from the Aerospace Vehicles Division of the NLR and an international expert. The award will be awarded biennially, i.e. every other year.

The main selection criteria used by the committee are:

  1. high scientific quality of the contributions,
  2. relevance of these scientific contributions to fatigue and damage tolerance,
  3. general quality of publications in peer reviewed journal articles,
  4. impact on aerospace engineering.

The award consists of a token and a prize of € 5000.

Eligible candidates from any country, worldwide, are invited to submit their resume to G.J.M.vanderWindt@tudelft.nl stating "Schijve Award 2017". The application should be accompanied by a letter of recommendation from an acknowledged expert in the field of aeronautical fatigue, preferably the supervising professor.

The deadline for submission is 15 February 2015.